Camp

A couple times this summer, I’ve worked out at a Christian camp. I chose to be in the kitchen. A lot of people seemed to think that was weird, considering I could’ve worked with the horses, or been a junior counselor, or something more fun. But the kitchen is where God wanted me this summer, and it’s where I want to be next summer.

When I first arrived at camp for staff training, I really didn’t want to be there. I was scared. What if people didn’t like me? What if I messed up? Maybe I didn’t want to work at a camp. But I went anyway. Of course, I loved it.

I have to admit, there were times when I didn’t want to be there. And you know what? I messed up a lot. The funniest time was this past Friday night. We had hot dogs for dinner, but you know what I did? I put out hamburger buns. Thankfully, the head cook is really really nice and merciful. So we laughed. All of us. I didn’t have time to kick myself, because there weren’t any pointing fingers. Just smiling faces and lots of laughs. Lots.

If I learned (well, relearned) one thing this summer, it’s that I’m not perfect. Far from, actually. But that’s okay. The only perfect person to walk this earth was Jesus, and that’s the way it’s going to stay.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

During my last week there, I realized I really like some of the songs. One of them really spoke to me, and it was a ton of fun singing it, however good or awful it sounded.

Overall, I loved camp. There were a few bad times, but so many good times that those will be forgotten. I can’t wait until next summer to go back.

Love,
Bekah♥

Leave a Reply

