Stop.

Today in church, we sang the hymn “What Child is This?”
Halfway through the second verse, I stopped singing and just listened. What I heard was beautiful.

While my church doesn’t have that many good singers, the sound of my family (or anyone, really) praising God with their voices was one of the best sounds I’ve ever heard. I don’t care if we sound awful. To God, we sounded wonderful and beautiful and He’s delighted with us.

And I got that. For a few seconds, I forgot what we sounded like and focused on how God felt (not that I’d really know, but you get the idea). It was nice. I felt happy to be singing for my God with my spiritual family.

I sang the rest of the song with the joy of knowing that I was doing something that made God happy. Our praises put a smile on His face, and it put one on mine too.

Sing praises to the LORD, O you his saints,
and give thanks to his holy name.
(Psalm 30:4 ESV)

Bekah♥

2 thoughts on “Stop.

  1. RadarDash

    That’s what i mean about Christian music!

    If we are sing a song during praise and worship, are we supposed to get excited because of the beat of the song? Or because we are praising the Lord who gave us the ability to listen to music?

    I’m sure you’ve wondered why I don’t listen to music…. this is why.

    Would you rather listen to music, or worship the Lord, Jesus Christ?

    Reply
  2. craftgirl18

    The fact that God is delighted with us, even though we’re such a raggedy bunch of people tottering and stumbling after Him, amazes me. Our feeble attempt to sing is hardly noticed at all when it is the praise of our hearts and the joy of our souls that produce a melody of glory to our God 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

